Buon Natale

The mouth watering aroma of Christmas Eve dinner pours into each room, scented candles flicker in every corner of the house, Christmas music of my childhood past plays in the background, Leilani finalizing her 3rd Santa letter rough draft on the coffee table; occasionally checking up on Santa’s whereabouts via noradsanta.org, husband still hasn’t left his “workshop”. I sit with feet propped up, looking out my back porch and see Christmas trees lining apartment windows; military families in their homes – I allow myself to exhale – a reminder that I’m not the only one thousands of miles away from family. Tonight marks our first Christmas together in 3 years. Tonight might be best spent alone, but tonight…

I am truly missing family and bottomless tamales on this evening before Christmas.

Leave a Reply

